Tuesday, September 27, 2016

"The Cautious Maiden"

"The Cautious Maiden" is the 4th historical romance novel in Dawn Crandall's The Everstone Chronicles series and it is a must-read for fans of this genre!

Description: In this historical romance set in nineteenth century New England, Violet Hawthorne is forced into an engagement with a taciturn acquaintance - Vance Everstone - in order to salvage her good name.  However, with danger stalking her and tis new fiancé who hides both his emotion and his past, Violet must decide who to trust - and who to leave behind. 

My Review:
I absolutely loved this book (and this entire series!) and was eager to finish to find out what happens, but then I was sad to be done with no more to read!  Violet is devastated when her brother shows up with a new friend and they do something horrifying and it is clear that her brother is not going to protect her.  This is just the beginning for Violet of romance, danger, stalkers, and the high society life.  Violet's name and life is surrounded by scandal and Vance aims to remedy that by proposing marriage and Violet is taken back that this family will accept her and her sullied name.  Before the wedding can take place, Rowan is determined to cash in on his win, his win being Violet.  Violet is forced to decide who to trust, who has her best interests at heart and the path she really wants her life to take.  Violet is such a great main character and one whom I found myself empathizing with throughout the entire book.  Dawn does an incredible job with character development, creating vivid scenes and mixing suspense and romance. 

To connect with Dawn:
Twitter @dawnwritesfirst

Dawn's previous novels in this series are "The Hesitant Heiress," "The Bound Heart," and "The Captive Imposter."

No comments:

Post a Comment