Thursday, October 28, 2010

Book Review - "Emily's Chance"

"Emily's Chance" is the second book in Sharon Gillenwater's The Callahans of Texas series. This book picks right up where "Jenna's Cowboy" left off. The town of Callahan Crossing is trying to rebuild after a horrific fire destroyed part of the town and the town's history. Emily had been hired shortly before the fire occurred to organize the Callahan Crossing Historical Museum; however the fire destroys the current building. Chance Callahan meets Emily the day of the fire and knows he has got to know her better as he believes she is "his one." Determined to keep Emily in Callahan Crossing he donates a building for the museum and enlists the help of his mother with not only the museum, but her matchmaking skills as well. The title, "Emily's Chance," has double meaning as not only is the man Chance determined to be Emily's Chance, but working at the museum is a chance for Emily to add to her resume and leads to her getting a possible chance for a job of her dreams. Staying in Callahan Crossing past getting the museum established is not part of Emily's plans. Can her heart change her head?
It was difficult to stop reading this book once I started. Gillenwater made me wish I was a part of Callahan Crossing! The family relationships and friendships are so realistic as is the "small-town feel" of the book. I am hoping a third book comes out soon, probably Will's story this time!

“Available October 2010 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”

Wednesday, October 20, 2010

Book Review - "Don't Look Back"

Do not start reading this book if you only have a few minutes to spend reading, once you start reading you will not want to put it down! Lynette Eason has another released another great novel, book #2 in the Women of Justice series, "Don't Look Back." I stayed up late reading and finished this book as once I started I was pulled into the suspense and romance that is on every page!
This book focuses once more on the Cash family as the first novel did in this series. Samantha and Conner are married, and continue to work closely on cases with Jamie, Samantha's sister, and Dakota, a friend of all, but who would like to be more than a friend to Jamie. Working as a forensic anthropologist, Jamie must relive and deal with the horrors that she experienced twelve years earlier while she was kidnapped and mistreated. While working on a case, Jamie feels that she is being watched and discovers that "The Hero," her kidnapper is around. Jamie refused to not live her life in fear and essentially not live like she did for so many years. Her goal is to find "The Hero" before yet another girl is harmed as Jamie discovers the number of victim is edging toward twenty. As Jamie works and spends time with Dakota, she is filled with feelings that are unfamiliar and she is not sure if she is ready to allow a man to be close to her and part of her life.
This is a great romantic suspenseful read! You will travel on a journey with Jamie as she trusts God and finds healing through Him and comfort that is only found through Him.

“Available October 2010 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”

Tuesday, October 19, 2010

Book Review - "A Suitor for Jenny"

"A Suitor for Jenny" is Margaret Brownley's second book in her Rocky Creek Romance series. It is 1880 in Rocky Creek, Texas and Jenny is determined to find husbands for her two sisters. Jenny has very strict requirements for what makes a man suitable. Following her head instead of her heart results in not finding appropriate men. Falling for a man herself is not part of Jenny's plan and she is not willing to give into these feelings easily.
This is an enjoyable, quick read. I am looking forward to reading more books in the future from this author.

Saturday, October 16, 2010

Book Review - "The Waiting"

Suzanne Woods Fisher takes us back to the 1960s in Lancaster County in her latest book, "The Waiting," book two in her Lancaster County Secrets. There we will meet schoolteacher Jorie King, neighbor to the Zook family. Jorie is waiting for Ben Zook to return from serving the country as her heart has always belonged to him. One day the news is delivered that he is dead, this is shortly before Ben's sister-in-law loses a battle to cancer. Jorie and Ben's newly widowed brother find that they have feelings for each other, but then Ben arrives home. What will Jorie's heart tell her?
Fisher ties in the Amish culture will historical details of this time. An African-American vet arrives in town, much to the dismay of the "English," yet the Amish welcome him and his expertise with the large animals. Feelings and attitudes about the war are discussed even in the Amish community. Fisher has created a wonderful story that will pull you into the culture and lifestyle of this fascinating group of people during a decade of excitement and turmoil.

“Available October 2010 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”

Saturday, October 9, 2010

Book Review - "The House on Malcolm Street"

I cannot imagine losing my mother, husband and only son to death over the period of two years and having to relocate myself and my daughter to a completely new town and a home with a relative of my late husband's whom I have never met. Yet this is exactly what Leah must do in Leisha Kelly's latest historical novel, "The House on Malcolm Street." Leah has sold belongings in order to stay in her home, however it is not enough and after having to sleep a few nights in the park with her young daughter, Leah must travel to Aunt Marigold's home. This is a story of facing fears, dealing with the past and finding peace with the future. It is understandable that Leah is angry with God, yet He is the only one who can truly help her. You will be taken on a journey with Leah and will experience a myriad of emotions alongside her. This is a quick and easy, yet emotional read, of mending one's heart.

“Available September 2010 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”

Saturday, October 2, 2010

Book Review - "A Memory Between Us"

You will not be disappointed with the second book of Sarah Sundin's Wings of Glory series. "A Memory Between Us" continues the World War II saga and shares the story of another of the Novak brothers introduced in the first book of this series. Jack Novak is the older brother of Walter (the main character in book one), the older brother who is looked up to and admired, however we will learn that Jack ha his own insecurities. Jack is involved in a plane crash and is at the army hospital where he meets nurse Lieutenant Ruth. Jack falls in love with Ruth and tries to win her heart, however this turns out to not be quite that easy. Sundin takes us on the journey alongside Jack and Ruth as they meet, get to know each other, and work through things in each of their lives. Ruth believes she is broken and not worthy of anyone; will Jack be able to change her mind?
Sundin ties in the history of World War II in this historical fiction novel and makes it so realistic. Sundin has delivered an enjoyable read that is packed full of history, emotions, love and will keep you turning the pages until the end!

“Available September 2010 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”